Somali government rejects parliamentary electoral commission to travel

 Mogadishu, Somalia (HOL) – 35 honorable members of Parliament electoral commission of Somalia were rejected to travel from Aden Adde International Airport to abroad for some duties today, while 15 others of parliament members were stopped to fly  for health conditions, as Honorable Khaalid told Hiiraan Online.

Members of the electoral commission of parliament were reported to be heading to one of the neighbouring countries to attend a workshop.The step to ban their travel was instructed by the president Sharif Sheikh Ahmed saying that no parliament member can  leave the country in this circumstances.

“Parliament members were rejected to travell by Gen. Abdullahi Gafow Mohamud after receiving a letter from the interior ministry,” one of the parliament members who was at the airport was quated as saying  .

Khalid also stated that they are at the airport waiting further instructions from the government to allow them to leave.

This incident comes after the electoral commission started the procedures to organize an election which is contradictory to the government decision to postpone elections until next year.

Monday, May 09, 2011


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s