What Blair and Geldof didn’t see in Ethiopia (a must read)

By Thembi MutchThe phone call from a mobile in Ethiopia was vague: did I have resilience, a sense of humour, journalism experience? I was in my English garden at the time, and getting a phone call from the UN in Addis Ababa while I was deadheading the dahlias in the early summer of 2004 was surreal. The previous June I had applied for a public information and media job with the United Nations in Namibia, got it, but then turned it down. Presumably my name was floating on a database somewhere. I was sent a job description of the Ethiopia proposal: vague sentences about knowledge of information management and training, the ability to write copy. But it sounded interesting, and having lived and worked all over Africa in the last 14 years, and with dual South African-British nationality, I was desperate to get back to the continent I love and know.

What Blair and Geldof didn’t see in Ethiopia (a must read) -Read more –

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

